Alive and well in Pixie Hollow

Hello old friends!  Sorry for the extended absence from the blogosphere.  My life in the last month and a half has seen quite a bit of upheaval and change.  All good stuff, though.  In early February, I left Nickelodeon after 6 years of rewarding work and started over at DisneyToon Studios to work for my good friend, mentor, and trusted colleague, Steve Loter, on the 6th movie in the Pixie Hollow/Tinkerbell pantheon.  I’m leaving behind the macro world of directing for my first love, storyboarding.  However, this will be the first time I’ve had the privilege of working in a feature film environment.  For those of you who don’t quite know what that entails, it basically means a bigger budget and a less frantic schedule.  I’ll have time to explore a few different approaches to a sequence rather than try to get it right the first time out and move on to the next sequence at a sprinter’s pace.  The other exciting aspect of working at DTS is that is helmed by a very involved John Lasseter, head of Pixar (oh, and director of Toy Story, Cars, Cars 2.)  I am surrounded by extremely talented artists, and I am looking forward to growing as an artist and expanding the scope of the way I usually storyboard a script.

As if that weren’t enough change in my life, I went ahead and surprised the family with a puppy!  Yes, it is true what they say about puppies.  Even a very good puppy, like ours, is curious and mischevious and loves to chew things they shouldn’t.  Like my children.  And their clothes.  So, it’s been a bit tumultuous at home since Auggie arrived.  (That’s right–he is named in honor of that early tv cartoon, Auggie Doggie and Doggie Daddy.)  Good thing he is so danged cute–he is a miniature Golden Retriever.

Anyway, I am intent on getting back on the horse and post some artwork real soon.  Cheers!

Leave a Reply

